After the July 19, 2008 program on CCC camps in Connecticut, we toured the site of one of those CCC camps: Camp White in Barkhamsted. Located in American Legion State Forest (just north of the Austin Hawes campground), Camp White was operating from late 1933 to early 1942. Not much evidence of the buildings remain, but the stone lined parade ground is still visible, as are some concrete ruins of some of the garages, wash room and blacksmith shop. The fireplace chimney of the infirmary is still standing. In the photo, former DEP unit manager Marilyn Aarrestad (in the red hat) is pointing out where the mess hall stood. Marilyn is an expert on the CCC and was instrumental in establishing the CCC Museum located in Shenipsit State Forest in Stafford. Marty Podskoch, author and CCC expert, (short pants, center of photo) was also on the tour after presenting a fascinating program prior to the visit to Camp White.